top of page

Back to School

There comes a time in August when I start to get wistful with just a touch of melancholy. It's almost like clockwork and hits mid Shark Week. Why during Shark Week, you ask? Because that's when all of the back to school ads start airing. It's really hard to ignore summer coming to an end when the school ads are blaring at you during every commercial break. I know most parents love back to school time. A time when they no longer have to entertain their kids all day long and can enjoy the brief moments of silence their empty house brings. When your kids hit a certain age and are more self sufficient, however, the end of summer just means no more sleeping in. No more ignoring your morning routine of exercising and getting stuff done.

Organizing with The Accidental Decorator

Once the bandaid is ripped off and I've embraced the return of my morning ritual, my type A side takes over. That's when I remember the fun side of back to school: the supplies! My son doesn't care for organization but I am a freak about it. He isn't interested in making sure everything is in its correct place or has a holder or pouch. In fact he refused to use a pencil case just last year (much to my dismay). "You're just going to let them float around your backpack? But why? There is a pouch that fits them perfectly." I lost that battle. Boys. They're no fun at all. I had to twist his arm just to use his locker this year, but he refused to use any of the cool locker paraphernalia I bought at Office Depot.

To this end, I managed to get him to let me organize his desk. He's starting high school and I experienced an overwhelming urge to update his room. There wasn't much he would let me touch but I did take the win when he agreed to let me touch his desk. I don't care what anyone says, I still ascribe to the "if you organize it, they will study" school of thought.

The Accidental Decorator Back To School

His drawer was a mish-mosh of random things that had accumulated since the fourth grade

when I bought him the desk. I'm not sure why my controlling side didn't pick up on this mess sooner but now it's time! This was an easy fix and brings me so much joy. Maybe you'll read this and think it's too simple for you, but sometimes it's the simple things that can make all the difference.

For this one, I hit up Amazon and did a search for exactly the right match. I didn't know what I was looking for but I knew I would know it when I saw it. I was thinking it would be an all in one tray but then I found these colorful boxes that came in different shapes and sizes. They fit together like a puzzle so I could place them wherever they were needed.

The finished product brought me more joy than is probably normal. I know you Type A gals out there will know exactly what I'm talking about. There's something about an uncluttered space that can be so satisfying. I'm sure it's lost on my son but it makes me feel better to know that he's starting the school year off with an organized desk!

SaveSaveSave

Meet Kristen...

A self proclaimed Pinterest expert

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2015 by The Accidental 

Decorator and

Pumpkins & Petunias

keejohnson@aol.com

All content is copyright protected.  Do not use images or post links without obtaining permission from Kristen O'Meara via the Contact Page 

copyright protected
bottom of page