top of page

Vintage Halloween

My children have decided they're too old for the pumpkin patch. I am not too old for the pumpkin patch. After last year's debacle which may or may not have included my forcing everyone to go, I've decided I might be alone on my pumpkin patch affinity. I love Halloween and am not giving up on this holiday quite yet, so I will be making my children carve pumpkins whether they want to or not.

Halloween Banner with The Accidental Decorator

As I've already done a post about pumpkin carving, I've decided to focus on a simpler and less messy Halloween craft. This one is a good one for the kids because it's easy and doesn't involve a lot of supplies. If you've been following my blog, you know I'm a big fan of the banner. You can be super creative and use different materials and supplies for each different one. I've made birthday banners, holiday banners, party banners, baby shower banners, you can see where I'm going here. The creativity is endless and, as always, Pinterest is your best resource for great ideas.

Halloween Banner with The Accidental Decorator
Halloween with The Accidental Decorator

For this Halloween, I decided to go a little retro with my decor. I wanted to do a banner that had a vintage vibe to it. I started by just doing a Google search for vintage Halloween images. There are plenty out there. I found about two dozen images and adjusted their sizes to approximately 3x5. This will depend on what size you want your banner and the resolution of the images you've found. You can't blow them up too big if the resolution is small; they will look fuzzy and out of focus. Plus, you have to take into consideration what you want your banner to say. "Happy Halloween" and "Trick or Treat" are both pretty long so I kept my images on the small side. Once re-sized, I printed them all out and glued them to colored construction paper as a backing. It gave the images some thickness and made them pop more. For this one I used black but you could use any color that matches your decor.

I've been known to break out the Cricut paper cutting machine to make my letters, however, for this one I saw some pre-cut black glittered letters at Michael's Craft Store. They were on sale so I was sold (I'm a sucker for a good deal.) I don't always recommend waiting this late in the season to make your holiday craft, but sometimes it works out because by now everything is on sale and the stores are already well on their way to pushing their Christmas decorations.

The final touch is to find some cute ribbon and string your banner. Fall lends itself to twine as well, which would also work on this banner. Have fun and Happy Halloween!!

Meet Kristen...

A self proclaimed Pinterest expert

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2015 by The Accidental 

Decorator and

Pumpkins & Petunias

keejohnson@aol.com

All content is copyright protected.  Do not use images or post links without obtaining permission from Kristen O'Meara via the Contact Page 

copyright protected
bottom of page