top of page

Faux Fun


Succulents with The Accidental Decorator

Sometimes when I check the HGTV channel, I secretly wish there's a Fixer Upper marathon on. I get nothing accomplished on those lucky Sundays when I can catch one of these marathon days. The last one gave me some inspiration on how to use my brand new marble and wood cake plate. I saw this photo (excuse the quality as it's a screen shot from my tv) and got the inspiration I needed.

I love succulents because they're easy and all of the different types together can look amazing. A few years back I bought an old tub at a flea market and planted it with succulents. Some of them are actually still alive and look pretty decent; considering how much I forget to water them. I love the simplicity of caring for a succulent garden.

DIY with The Accidental Decorator

I still find gardening mildly stressful, even with succulents. My bathtub garden miraculously survived my forgetfulness and neglect. I think because it's outside and can manage to squeeze whatever it needs from the sun and not so frequent moisture my Southern California backyard provides. The smaller succulents in my house don't fair so well. They keep dying which is pretty embarrassing considering how idiot-proof they're supposed to be.

Crafting with The Accidental Decorator

DIY with The Accidental Decorator

One of the many beauties of succulents is that they have a slightly fake look about them even when they're real. So in all of my genius, I decided to fill my indoor pots with fake succulents. Who would know, right? Except you but you won't tell anyone. Pinkie swear?

DIY with The Accidental Decorator

DIY with The Accidental Decorator

The trick is to plant them in pots just like you would a real succulent. I put potting soil in and surrounded the top of the soil and the base of the plant with decorative rocks. An occasional dusting and you're good to go. So far no one has noticed. I went to two different craft stores that carry faux plants and picked through them all to find the most realistic ones. Now I have guilt free house plants that need zero attention. And, thanks to Joanna from Fixer Upper, I now have the perfect use for that gorgeous cake plate I was gifted this past Christmas.

Succulents with The Accidental Decorator

Meet Kristen...

A self proclaimed Pinterest expert

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2015 by The Accidental 

Decorator and

Pumpkins & Petunias

keejohnson@aol.com

All content is copyright protected.  Do not use images or post links without obtaining permission from Kristen O'Meara via the Contact Page 

copyright protected
bottom of page