top of page

Have a Pinterest Wedding for Under $5K


Wedding crafts with The Accidental Decorator

Weddings are expensive. I think that's the under statement of the century. I've already thrown one back in 2000 and it was a spectacle. I had ushers and bridesmaids and multiple locations, I had favors and color schemes and I even had bagpipes. It was beautiful and expensive and un-necessary. So after the divorce settled and I met the man of my dreams and decided it was time for round two, I got the do-over I had always secretly wished for. I knew this time I was going to tame the run away beast that the wedding industry feeds on.

I have the beauty of hindsight on my side, which definitely helps with perspective. My first time around, I defended my choice of a big wedding. "It's once in a lifetime." "Every girl dreams of her wedding day." "I know I could use the money as a down payment on a house, but I will regret not getting my 'special' day." That last one was mostly to my practical father. For every one of those statements, there was always someone willing to jump in and feed the wedding beast. "You need that dress, it's only $2,000* and it's on sale!" *Feel free to substitute whatever amount you spent on your dress. God knows, I have friends who bought $8,000 custom made dresses which were flown in from Europe. Did I mention the wedding industry feeds on our weaknesses? More on that later...

It is possible to have a beautiful "special" day and not break the bank doing it. There's a lot of ground to cover here so I'm going to offer up a bunch of tips and tricks that I used and hopefully they will be helpful for your planning too. Just know that having the wedding of your dreams and keeping it affordable is within your reach.

Comments


Meet Kristen...

A self proclaimed Pinterest expert

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page